top of page

The Goddesses of Crochet


It's really exciting to do our first blog from our new Wix site. We are on Instagram, Facebook, and most all of the social media too. So we decided to participate in Throwback Thursdays by celebrating one of the Goddesses of crochet, Jacqueline Henderson.

I first found out about her on this site for crocheters and knitters called Ravelry. She was one of a number of black crafters that had her own book. I began to collect them. I loved the feminine, funky and complicated designs I saw there. I plan to celebrate other Goddesses of Crochet in the future. Here's Jacqueline Henderson's book The Woman's Day Book of Designer Crochet.

That's Jackie Smith on the cover from the original Charlie's Angels. There are some black models in there, and Jacqueline's picture is on the inside of the dust cover. But I seem to recall the magazine usually featured white models back in the day on the supermarket line.

This book was published circa 1980, To be honest, I'm not 100% sure that our top pic was Jacqueline's. But she was such a force at Woman's Day I'm almost sure. I tried to look her up to see if she is still alive, but I didn't find that out. What I did find, was many, many modern day crocheters honoring and replicating her work all around the web. Her legacy lives on in the crochet world.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page